The Comoros Economic Citizenship programme was established in 2001 in accordance with the Union of Comoros Constitution. The programme is regulated by the Law on Economic Citizenship as of 27 November 2008. The last significant amendments to the citizenship by investment scheme were made in 2013. The authority responsible for processing citizenship applications is the National Independent Committee. Citizenship is granted solely by decree of the President of the Republic.

About Comoros

The official name of the country is the Union of the Comoros. It is a sovereign island nation in the Indian Ocean located Mozambique and Madagascar. Other countries near the Comoros are Tanzania to the northwest and the Seychelles to the northeast. The population, excluding Mayotte, is estimated at 798,000. The Union of the Comoros has three official languages – Comorian, Arabic and French – though French is the sole official language. In addition to many smaller islands, the country consists of the four major islands in the volcanic Comoros archipelago: Grande Comore, Mohéli, Anjouan, and Mayotte. Mayotte, however, has never been administered by an independent Comoros government and continues to be administered by France (currently as an overseas department) as it was the only island in the archipelago that voted against independence in 1974. The Comoros is the only state to be a member of the African Union, Francophonie, Organisation of Islamic Cooperation, Arab League, and the Indian Ocean Commission.

The climate of Comoros is marine tropical. The Comoros archipelago is lashed by tropical cyclones every year. There are minor climatic variations due to differing island topography. The climate of Comoros essentially consists of two seasons. The humid hot season starts from the month of November and continues until April. The cool season dominates the archipelago the rest of the year. Monthly temperatures along the coasts range from 23°Centigrade to 28°Centigrade. The climate in Comoros is characterized by heavy rainfall. The higher mountainous central regions of the islands are cooler and receive comparatively heavier rainfall when compared to the coastal areas. This climatic variation promotes the diversity of flora and fauna within the islands.